Life’s a stage

Psychedelic states accompany my every feeling. One minute I’m bathed in hope and emotional self indulgence , the other I’m arguing with my own shadows in depressive scenes of misery. Life, a mere stage, sometimes you get to have a delightful performance, sometimes you’re just awful… frankly, the audience doesn’t even have to boo you off the stage, you do it yourself… and it’s not because you forgot the lines or anything like that. No. It’s just the role, it doesn’t suit you. And of course there are those times when you don’t even get the part.

The stage has many roles. Me, I find myself just laying there, sitting, waiting… for something that never will be, something that never was. And it’s not the waiting that consumes me, oh no, it’s the hope. The hope that someday I’ll wake up from this numb and grey dream, that which is called in an absurd manner… reality. Who are we to say what is real and what is not? What if all your senses, emotion and even your thoughts are all just illusions… oh how I would cherish such a truth, such dissolution of this dire world. It’s just now that I’ve realized what I’m actually waiting for; I want this dream to end.

Shakespeare wrote:

‘All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players:
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts…’

I, for one, have no idea what my part is, all I know is that I seem to be stuck in it just like a male mantis is stuck in his first and also last “night of love”. Will I ever get off the stage for my next part? How long must I wait for the curtain to settle? I can’t even taste the next act…

~ by mihailanga on May 23, 2011.

2 Responses to “Life’s a stage”

  1. merci de inspiratie 😛

Leave a Reply

 
